Environmental Working Group

Environmental Working Group

The BPO Environmental Group consists of nine members representing the following ports: Copenhagen Malmö, Stockholm, Tallinn, Helsinki, Turku, Rostock, Gdańsk, Liepāja and Kaliningrad. The main task of the EWG is to follow regulatory developments that affect the port business, especially those related to HELCOM’s activities. Among the many topics are: SOx and NOx emissions, port reception facilities for sewage from passenger ships, which is a concern for many of the Baltic ports as it is associated with substantial costs as well as proper waste management in ports.
The Helsinki Commission is planning to introduce new rules when it comes to delivering sewage from passenger ships starting from 2016. BPO has the status of an observer in the Helsinki Commission, giving statements on port-related issues.
If you are a BPO member and wish to join the Group, please contact the BPO Office.



BPO Environmental Group Members:

Gert Nørgaard
Manager Strategy & Planning
Copenhagen Malmö Port AB
Gert.norgaard@cmport.com

 

 

 

Gun Rudeberg
Legal Counsel and Head of Environmental Affairs
Ports of Stockholm
gun.rudeberg@stockholmshamnar.se

 

Ellen Kaasik
Head of Quality and Environmental Management Department
Port of Tallinn
e.kaasik@portoftallinn.com

 

Markku Alahäme
Quality Manager
Port of Turku
markku.alahame@port.turku.fi

 

 

Aino Rantanen
Quality and Environment Manager
Port of Helsinki
aino.rantanen@hel.fi

 

 

Andrej Vatterrott
Port Development and Strategy
Port of Rostock
A.Vatterrott@rostock-port.de

 

 


Magdalena Korpalska
Environmental Protection Specialist
Port of Gdansk Authority
Magdalena.Korpalska@portgdansk.pl

 

 



Kaspars Ponemeckis
Port Enviromental Manager
Liepaja Port Authority
kaspars@lsez.lv

 

 

 

Ilia Sidlo
Chief expert on environment protection
FSUE “Rosmorport”, Kaliningrad branch
Port of Kaliningrad
sidlo@portkld.ru