About BPO

About Baltic Ports Organization

The Baltic Ports Organization is a regional ports organization inspiring and supporting its members while cooperating pro-actively with relevant partners. BPO was established on October 10, 1991, in Copenhagen, with an aim to facilitate cooperation among the ports and to monitor and improve the possibilities for shipping in the Baltic Sea region.
Development over the past years has proceeded very quickly and at present BPO has entered new, challenging and exciting phases. Currently, included in BPO are 41 of the most significant ports in the nine countries surrounding the Baltic Sea as well as seven friendship members. BPO is well-recognized within the BSR, in EU bodies and other European regions.
The organization's mission is to contribute to economic, social and environmental sustainable development of maritime transport and the port industry in the Baltic Sea region, thereby strengthening its global competitiveness.

BPO is registered in Estonia (Port of Tallinn headquarter) and operates according to the Estonian Law on Non-profit Associations.


BPO represents the interests of the Baltic Sea ports towards EU institutions and other relevant organizations.

BPO contributes to the clean environment of the Baltic Sea, promotes environmental management in the ports and plays an active role in international dialogs where the environment is concerned (BPO Environmental Working Group).

BPO organizes dedicated conferences, seminars, study visits, dealing with questions in the area of port operation and management, and the environmental impact of port activities.

BPO supports and plays an active role in research, science and training which lead to a better understanding of the transport sector in the region and to study future challenges.

Read the BPO Articles of Association


Chairman Dr. Kimmo Naski, HaminaKotka
Deputy Chairman Dr. Gernot Tesch, Rostock
Deputy Chairman Martynas Armonaitis, Klaipeda
  Jakob F. Christensen, Aarhus
  Ville Haapasaari, Helsinki
  Valdo Kalm, Tallinn
  Ansis Zeltiņš, Riga
  Thomas Andersson, Stockholm
  Piotr Nowak, Gdynia
Chairman Ellen Kaasik, Tallinn
  Markku Alahäme, Turku
  Magdalena Korpalska, Gdansk
  Daria Mróz, Gdynia
  Gert Nørgaard, Copenhagen
  Kaspars Ponemeckis, Liepaja
  Ilia Sidlo, Port of Kaliningrad
  Andrej Vatterrott, Port of Rostock
Secretary General  Bogdan Ołdakowski
Executive Manager  Marta Friedrichowicz
Project Manager  Marcin Włodarski
Office Manager  Karolina Bartkowski
Communication Manager   Andrzej Urbaś